En lustig dikt om Grönsakers rättighet

 VEGETARIAN’S NIGHTMARE

a dissertation on plant’s rights

Ladies and diners I make you

A shameful, degrading confession.

A deed of disgrace in the name of good taste

Though I did it, I meant no aggression.

I had planted a garden last April

And lovingly sang it a ballad.

But later in June beneath a full moon

Forgive me, I wanted a salad!

So I slipped out and fondled a carrot

Caressing its feathery top.

With the force of a brute I tore out the root!

It whimpered and came with a pop!

Then laying my hand on a radish

I jerked and it left a small crater.

Then with the blade of my True Value spade

I exhumed a slumbering tater!

Celery I plucked, I twisted a squash!

Tomatoes were wincing in fear.

I choked the Romaine. It screamed out in pain,

Their anguish was filling my ears!

I finally came to the lettuce

As it cringed at the top of the row

With one wicked slice I beheaded it twice

As it writhed, I dealt a death blow.

I butchered the onions and parsley.

My hoe was all covered with gore.

I chopped and I whacked without looking back

Then I stealthily slipped in the door.

My bounty lay naked and dying

So I drowned them to snuff out their life.

I sliced and I peeled as they thrashed and they reeled

On the cutting board under my knife.

I violated tomatoes

So their innards could never survive.

I grated and ground ‘til they made not a sound

Then I boiled the tater alive!

Then I took the small broken pieces

I had tortured and killed with my hands

And tossed them together, heedless of whether

They suffered or made their demands.

I ate them. Forgive me, I’m sorry

But hear me, though I’m a beginner

Those plants feel pain, though it’s hard to explain

To someone who eats them for dinner!

I intend to begin a crusade

For PLANT’S RIGHTS, including chick peas.

The A.C.L.U. will be helping me too.

In the meantime, please pass the bleu cheese

This poem was written by Baxter Black.

Lämna en kommentar